Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
theanimepiper

Question about watermelons (OrangeGlo)

TheAnimePiper
10 years ago

So this is my first year growing watermelons, orangeglo in particular, and I was curious how many watermelons I should leave on the plant in total/melons per vine. I won't be selling them and in fact will be giving most away to my neighbors so I don't need them to be gigantic melons but adequate size. Should I just leave them on the vine and what grows, grows or should I prune some off? I have a total of 8 right now that I've pollinated.

Comments (17)

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Normally, the size of watermelon is decided by the variety. For example, a Sugar Baby will not get very big.

How many per vine ? there in not a set standard. It depends on the plants vigor, growing conditions, length of growing season, so forth. But I would look at it this way:
    HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE FROM FLOWER TO A RIPE WATERMELON? Lets say that it will take 7 weeks. So any flower has less than 7 weeks chance will not ripen. I would, therefore cut/ discourage any new growth/flower within that last 7 week window of time. MAYBE, if the vine has too many fruits, I'll start that process sooner.

So, not knowing specifics about the variety in question and the length of your growing season I cannot be more specific.
    I am sure other member can give you better answers.

• TheAnimePiper
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Well, I mentioned that I was growing OrangeGlo which I've read bears fruit anywhere from 10-30lbs. I'm in zone 7b in Oregon and my growing season is from mid May to late September/mid October and these were transplanted June 1. I was just wondering if I should limit its production to a specific amount of fruit per vine and/or plant so as to keep the quality of it I guess. Though, your example was helpful!

• farmerdill
    10 years ago