Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lolear

Celery disappointment

lolear
10 years ago

This is my first try at growing celery. I found some starts at a local plant sale this spring found a good spot for them in the garden and they appear to be doing great. No bugs or diseases seem to be interested in them and they have grown unhindered. I thought they were big enough to try some. Disappointment. Although the stalks are not overly large, the texture is stringy. Is this a function of growing conditions, variety or have I let them go too long? Any pointers?
Thanks.

Comments (9)

• ceth_k
    10 years ago

The could be the variety. Try another variety next time to see if it is still the same,

• gjcore
    10 years ago

They might be stringy due to lack of watering. Celery needs to be kept moist. I need to hand water mine every day.

• glib
    10 years ago

Usually the stringier ones have much more flavor. I grow smallage, and the flavor is incredible.

• Masbustelo
    10 years ago

Lolear The celery needs to be blanched. Take some cardboard, and cut it the length of the plant, but let the leaves be exposed. Then moisten the cardboard and wrap the stems and tie it all into a tube with string. Let it be like this for a few weeks or a month. Also it is still early for the celery. It will keep growing and put on a lot of fall growth in the cooler fall weather. The plant quality will improve, wait until November to harvest if you want.

• nancyjane_gardener
    10 years ago

I didn't know about the blanching. Good to know!
    When I grew it a few years ago, I just used it in soups. It was very strong and tasty.
    I've just started a few stumps from the grocery store, so we'll se what the texture is like. I'll try the blanching too! Nancy

• lolear
    Original Author
    10 years ago