Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hobbiest

Just dug out a few potato plants

hobbiest
11 years ago

After 4 months, the Kennebecs have finally been explored ( read dug up ). Got around 3 new potatoes per seed. This is my first year of trying spuds. How can I keep these things long term? Anyone know how to can these things?

Comments (14)

• ltilton
    11 years ago

Why in particular would you want to can them?

• hobbiest
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I want to eat them several months down the road from harvesting them. It is nice when you can enjoy garden produce in the middle of winter.

• pnbrown
    11 years ago

East TN is a similar climate to where I am, and I store them no problem in a hole in the ground. The best thing is to leave them in the hills until cold weather - during the summer there isn't any place they will store better. If there are any you haven't dug yet just leave them.

• ltilton
    11 years ago

Poatoes store well for months in a cool, dark place if they're properly cured to harden the skins. People say not to, but I also store them in a refrigerator set to be around 40 degrees, not near freezing.

Canning them greatly limits the cooking possibilities.

• kai615
    11 years ago

I actually can some of my potatoes. You do need a pressure canner. I will provide a link below for info on how to.

First, I can what comes up from my early spring planting so I don't have anywhere climate controlled to store through the hot humid summer. Second, canned potatoes are fantastic for some things - quick home fries on mornings when we want a weekend breakfast but don't have a ton of time for one and my mom's corn chowder recipe in the middle of winter for another. Just these two alone make the day of peeling, chopping, and processing completely worth it for me.

Here is a link that might be useful: Canning potatoes

• hobbiest
    Original Author
    11 years ago

So how does canning them limit what you can do with them?