Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
saraw_gw

Soil mix in Sri Lanka

saraw
10 years ago

Hi there.

I'd be really grateful for some help.

I am new to gardening and am growing to try some square foot raised beds for growing vegetables at home. I have coir peat, compost (don't know composition), aged cow manure from a local farm and sand available to me. My question is what ratio of each should I use in the soil mix for best results. Many thanks.

Comments (7)

• seysonn
    10 years ago

For raised bed, you will need also top soil, or native soil.
    I used more than 50% topsoil, about 30%+ compost, and the rest all kinks of composted manure (Cow, chicken), peat moss, .. and the sand was included in the topsoil(Actually was called GARDEN MIX)

• saraw
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for that but I was wondering whether top soil was really essential as Mel the sq foot gardening guy says equal parts compost, peat moss and vermiculite, no mention of soil. So I thought maybe it wasn't necessary...

• seysonn
    10 years ago

In my personal opinion, topsoil (aka dirt) is beneficial.
    Where does the SOIL come from ? The answer is it is decayed rocks and stones over thousands of years, then little by little mixed with composted plant parts. So in effect , topsoil is a combination of inorganic and organic matter. They both have ingredients that plants can benefit from.

Square Foot gardening(IMO) is something like pot/container gardening and it is not an economically sound growing system... simply, the costs out weights the benefits.
    Imaging making a 1000 square foot garden with that method !!
    It will cost a fortune.

• saraw
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks Seysonn, I got you, yes you are right about the cost. Cheers for the help.

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    10 years ago