Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
casey0476

choosing meatiest tomato

casey0476
15 years ago

Hello I am new to the forum.I have been reading it for weeks and it has been so helpful.I do have a question my husband and I are wanting to know which is the best well rounded and biggest tomato you can use for canning things like salsa and spaghetti sauce?We planted celebrities and romas this year but the romas were not as big as we would like it took so many to do sauce.We also used some of the celebrities and they were great but so juicy.Any advice would be appreciated.

Comments (5)

• dancinglemons
    15 years ago

casey0476,

I am not a tomato expert but this year I did not grow Roma. In 2007 I was very disappointed with the Roma. Years ago I grew San Marzano but had used Burpee seeds. Two years in a row the Burpee San Marzano plants did not do well so I switched to Roma.

This year 2008 - I went back to San Marzano and am very pleased with the results. The San Marzano Redorta seeds were from "Seeds of Italy". The tomatoes are huge!! I will not grow Roma again. The seeds are actually from Italy and they send large amount of seed in large packets.

DL

Here is a link that might be useful: Seeds of Italy - USA distributor

• macky77
    15 years ago

Let's swap tomatoes, lol! I like the smaller juicy ones. :)