Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
johnboy90

runner beans

johnboy90
10 years ago

I have been growing Runner beans for the last 7 years and have been saving the beans at the end of the season for the following year, this year when i removed the beans from the pods they are pure white instead of the usual pink and purple. could anyone tell me why this has occured.The variety is Achievement. Thank you

Comments (8)

• fusion_power
    10 years ago

1. You planted the wrong seed.
    2. Your local bees have been very busy.

Runner beans are profligate outcrossers.

• seysonn
    10 years ago

If it is in just one pod, then it is crossed. Very unlikely, but possible.
    If it the case with every pod, then what you planted is not what you think it is.

OR: maybe you are mistaken about the color of the seed ! !!
    You should've noticed it long time ago.

• johnboy90
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks to Fusion Power and Seysonn for your reply, it does sound like they have crossed but only on 2 plants the rest are fine. The bees have been busy in my garden this year. I do hope my eyes have not mistaken the colour of the seeds or i might be planting peas instead of beans next year.LOL.

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    10 years ago

"Achievement" is red flowered, w/purple seeds. If all of the seed from this year was white, that would have been the result of some kind of mix up in seed labeling or planting. If you have mixed white & purple seeds, crossing is the most likely explanation.

As Fusion mentioned, runner beans can cross heavily, especially if you have bumblebees. Even if you grew only one variety, it might have been crossed with a white-flowered / white-seeded variety grown by one of your neighbors.