Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrhayseed

Sweet Pepper Question

mrhayseed
9 years ago

Hello, I am new to GardenWeb, first post here. I have a question about my sweet peppers. The variety is a Bulgarian Heirloom - Chervena Chujski. I bought the seeds from Landreth Seed Co. Planted them on May 5th. I treat them like my babies because I usually don't grow from seed. They are healthy and green with lots of large peppers. The packet says they'll turn green to brown to red when ripe. They are all still green and only a few have some small dark lines of brown forming. Do you think they'll ever ripen to red? It's been far longer than the 85 days to maturity. Any advice would be great. Thank you. I did post a photo, but I don't know it it worked or not.

- Jason

Comments (12)

• farmerdill
    9 years ago

Have not grown that variety, but yes they will eventually turn red. Most of that type ( frying peppers) turn red much quicker than bells. Whether you have time to wait for them them depends on where you are. The first frost will do them in. That 85 day DTM is from transplant. Cool weather extends that time considerably.

• mrhayseed
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you very much FarmerDill for your quick answer. I appreciate it.

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    9 years ago

"... Whether you have time to wait for them them depends on where you are." (Farmerdill)

I agree. It also depends upon whether you are willing to protect the plants from the first frosts. Covering the plants when frost threatens can give you an extra 2-4 weeks, even longer if you supply a little heat under the cover. That extra time can really count, because once the plants are kissed by near-freezing temperatures, they direct all of their energy into ripening the oldest fruits.