Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stoic_gw

help with mini tillers please

stoic
10 years ago

i have never used a mini tiller before just full sized walk behinds

i need to get a mini one now cause we are putting in a raised bed garden in an area of our yard that is 6 feet higher and accessible by a staircase, do not want to drag a full sized tiller up there.

i've been looking all over but i have no knowledge on this stuff. i don't need one to break ground more just to mix up the peat manure and topsoil we will put down

i know ones like the mantis are highly rated or so iot seems but i've definitely never used a tiller of any kind that had no wheels on it, not that i am unwilling to but i don't want to buy one blindly

i'd also like to keep the cost in the 200 to 250 dollar range can be gas or electric whatever is best bang for the buck and for the job

i'm hoping some knowledgeable people here can point me to the right thing to buy

any help and info would be greatly appreciated

Comments (35)

• ltilton
    10 years ago

I have a Mantis that I use as my primary tiller. Because of this, I have the 4-cycle machine that cost more. You don't need this.

I'd say that for your purpose an electric would do the job. They're the lightest.

• stoic
    Original Author
    10 years ago

thank you for the input

any suggestions as to the best ones in the 200 to 250 range?

• Mark
    10 years ago

You can probably find a good condition, used Mantis on Craigslist for $100-150.
    -Mark

• stoic
    Original Author
    10 years ago

i'm sure gonna be looking Mark. i'd like to get it bought but i don't need it in a rush we just moved in to this house and will set up the garden after the turn of the year just wanting to get my needs and supplies stockpiled if i can and on the tiller know a deal when i see one

so the mantis ones or any with no wheels they walk along nice or do they tend to dig in? i guess they must move along or people wouldn't be so up on them

• Mark