Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
totems_gw

Gardening in wet areas

TOTEMs
10 years ago

looking for advice or direction.

I garden on my property of 2 acres in 4 different plots because of the layout of land. My land borders wet lands and my entire area has a high water table. This combined with the very very heavy rain we have received in spurts has made it a rough year.

I have been gardening seriously for 4 years now on this property.

Some plants do fine kale, broccoli, lettuce, chards, beets

I have a very rough time with cantaloupe (tried 3 years and the texture is always off)

Tomatoes keep getting diseases and blight

Pepper and eggplant never produce

Watermelons never seem to do much

I do much well to keep the weeds down, but am I retaining too much moisture and keeping the soil too cool?

Should I give up on these items?

Comments (23)

• susanzone5 (NY)
    10 years ago

You might want to use raised beds. It helps with drainage and wet ground. Lots of info on this site if you do a search.

I live just west of you and I can tell you that this year was awful for tomatoes with blight and poor production in general. Even the farmers say so. It's been very wet and cold. For early blight, you can spray with 1 tbs. baking soda in a gallon of water and cut off the first diseased leaves. That has worked for me. I just got late blight and the plants were gone in a week. The cherry tomatoes did well.

I never have had good luck with melons in this area. They are either juicy with no flavor or just don't do well, so I rely on the farmers market or local fruit market (Adam's) for this, or California!

Eggplants and peppers like it warm, but I don't grow them anymore because I don't eat them. Others can give you info on this.