Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisazone6_ma

How do you know when beets are ready?

lisazone6_ma
14 years ago

I planted beets for the first time a couple weeks ago. The little seedlings are up and I started to thin them a bit - from what I've been told I need to leave a couple inches in between each plant to allow the root to form - but I only pulled a couple seedlings because I wasn't sure.

I have two main questions - how far can I let them go before thinning? I'd like to let the tops grow a little bit so I can use the seedlings I thin out for beet greens, but I don't want the remaining beets to suffer. I'd rather lose out on the thinnings than lose out on the beets.

Second - how do I know the beets are ready to pick? Just pull a couple up here and there and check the size?

Thanks!

Lisa

Comments (10)

• gsevens
    14 years ago

This is my first year with a garden, but I'll try. I also grew some beets earlier, and still have some growing.

I thinned mine when they got about 2 inches tall. You might be able to wait longer...not really sure. Yes, you want a couple of inches between them. If you don't have enough room between they don't grow right. As they start to swell, I would just pull a little dirt away from the top of the root to check the size. I do the same with my carrots. When they get to the size you would like, depending on the variety you planted, pull 'em!

Paul

• cyrus_gardner
    14 years ago

Beets, depending on variety and growing conditions, can get up to 4" in diameter. So 2 inch spacing is not enough. BUT, you can thin them later and enjoy the top, as green vegetable like chards. Actually chards and beets are close relatives.

• tedposey
    14 years ago

Cyrus is correct. I'd thin to about 2 inches as soon as the tops are big enough to add to a salad, Then when you get 2 in bulbs on then pull every other one and eat. Beets are good any time from nickel size on up.