Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rayrose_gw

What a Volunteer !!

rayrose
9 years ago

There was a watermelon vine that somehow popped up through a crack in my concrete driveway. I decided to leave it alone like it was a weed. It got no water nor food the whole season. It took over half of my driveway and into my blueberry hoop house. I just harvested the last of 8 watermelons from this single vine with a total weight of 374 lbs. That's an average of almost 47 lbs. per melon. This is the largest one at 63.5 lbs. I've been growing melons for 7 years and average approximately 150 melons/year. These are the best and sweetest melons I've ever grown, and i highly recommend you give them a try next year. it's a crimson sweet type melon called Big Stripe and Willhites has the seed.

Comments (15)

• rayrose
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This is another pic

• catherinet
    9 years ago

Lucky you! YUM!

• rayrose
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This is the single vine that yielded 374 lbs of watermelons.

• glib
    9 years ago

I wonder if the driveway helped, giving off heat at night.

• spartan-apple
    9 years ago

Wow! Looks mighty good. I am so Piss**d at the industry for providing only seedless watermelons at my local grocery stores. The texture is spongy and never as sweet
    as seeded watermelons. Some say I am crazy but I will
    take a seeded melon over seedless any day.

Kids around here will never know the joy of spitting watermelon seeds at a picnic.

Rayrose that watermelon looks luscious!

• naturegirl_2007 5B SW Michigan
    9 years ago

What do you use your garage for? Did it get closed for the summer? LOL

Those are some amazingly large watermelons. What length and height would you estimate they were? And how do you move a 60 + pound melon!?

• wayne_5 zone 6a Central Indiana
    9 years ago