Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chicagodeli37

castor bean poison

ChicagoDeli37
11 years ago

Few days Back I popped some seeds out of a dry flower gave them to my neighbor and went on with my day...didn't wash my hands.

My chest has been hurting but no other symptoms..went to doctor today with cheat pains...they did some heart tests and oxygen tests...I seem fine...I didn't mention to.him anything about the plants..I wasn't even thinking about it till just now...could the oil from.touching the seeds got me sick? ??

Should I be worried..?

Comments (9)

• jolj
    11 years ago

I think chest pains are not a symptom of castor oil poison.
    However I AM NOT A DOCTOR!!
    "Pierced seeds can release toxins that can enter the body though a scratch or though the mouth, should a child suck on a necklace made from seeds. Ricin can cause burning of the throat & mouth, vomiting, severe abdominal pain, diarrhea, thirst from loss of fluids & electrolytes, convulsions, & death." Page 144
    This is from Peterson Field Guides Venomous Animals & Poisonous Plants.
    The symptoms are different then yours, think you will be find. But to be safe call "Poison Control".

• rayinpenn
    11 years ago

Chest pains? Yeah you should be worried. Get a complete physical from an internist. Better safe then sorry.

• jean001a
    11 years ago

Call Poison Control for such questions.
    1-800-222-1222.

• wally_1936
    11 years ago

A few years back a wife read about the poison in Castor beans so she tried to poison her husband by feeding him Castor beans in his food. It make him ill but she got 10 years. So I doubt that you got sick because of the Castor Beans seeds. More than likely you are having health problems not related to the Castor Bean seeds.

• topsiebeezelbub
    11 years ago