Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ninjabut

When to pick eggplant?

ninjabut
15 years ago

This is my first year with eggplant. I think I have black beauties (whatever is the most common deep purple round one)

The largest so far is about the size of a softball, and it looks like I'm going to have plenty more on just 2 plants!

How do I know when it's time to pick them? I'd hate to wait too long and have them go bitter or something!

Also, does anyone have ideas on how to freeze them? Should I salt, blanch and freeze? Uses for frozen eggplant?

Thanks, Nancy

Comments (7)

• Beeone
    15 years ago

I don't like eggplant but my brother does, so I had to grow them for a while. If the fruit are softball size, they are plenty big enough. I never noticed any real difference in their disgusting soggy bread flavor and texture regardless of when they were picked. If they get too large, the seeds may tend to harden a little, but that will take quite a while. Just pick a few at varying sizes and find out which size is the least disgusting.

Rather than freezing them, I would just pull the plants and toss. Had some once that were just diced and frozen, then later they were cooked in a casserole and were no more or less awful than fresh. I would just feed them all to the sheep. If you like them, you might try a casserole, either fresh or frozen, using instant stuffing mix, some croutons, shredded carrots, diced eggplant, some sour cream, and bake. Probably forgetting some other source of moisture, though. Without the eggplant, it is quite a good casserole.

Good luck!

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

Anytime you want - the younger the better. As it gets larger and older it gets bitter. EP is intended to eat as a young vegetable.

• MLcom
    15 years ago

Ah a great receipe for them and eat/freeze. Eggplants can be wonderful. I normally harvest on size before the skin becomes dull color.

ML

• farmerdilla
    15 years ago