Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ailidespain

Fall broccoli zone 6

AiliDeSpain
10 years ago

Hey all.
I planted broccoli seedlings started from seed under lights around the end of August. The plants are doing well but are not producing anything edible yet. I know the DTM for this variety (Calabrese) is 60-90 days...my question is will it be okay and still produce a crop if we get a hard freeze between now and the time they start producing edible heads?
This is my first time growing broccoli.
Thanks!!

Comments (16)

• farmerdill
    10 years ago

Broccoli will handle temps down to about 22 F. If it gets lower than than that for a few hours they will fail. The photo is a broccoli that was damaged by a 20 degree freeze. {{gwi:114257}}

• seysonn
    10 years ago

I have found that fall planting can be tricky.
    You cannot start early enough because the weather is to hot. And when you do, by the time they get going the cold comes and they won't do much. For the northerners it is easier to grow them in the spring, I would think. I have started winter radish in mid August and it was quite warm. Some of them even tended to bolt. But yet they are not bulbing. Of course the bad weather and location is partly to blame. But over all the timing is very hard.

• AiliDeSpain
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Okay good to know. Hopefully they have time to produce before temps get too low.

• cugal
    10 years ago

Low tunnels are your friend! Not only for your brassicas, but a number of cool season vegetable...... Extend your fall growing season by 6 weeks!

• AiliDeSpain
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Okay good to know. Hopefully they have time to produce before temps get too low.

• DragonFlyTx
    10 years ago

I am wondering about the same thing about my broccoli

• Ohiofem 6a/5b Southwest Ohio
    10 years ago