Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rainrobin84

My leafy veggie plants are being eaten -- what to do?

rainrobin84
14 years ago

Something is chowing down on the leaves of my lettuces and spinach plants so there is nothing left but little green nubs in the ground. Also on my pea plants to the point of having nothing but stems left. I have looked very closely and can't see even the tiniest bug on any of the plants.

This is my first year of gardening in AZ, previously I am from WA and have never had any trouble with this.

Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!

Comments (10)

• tammysf
    14 years ago

I put a cover of tulle over my bed and my greens are doing great. The other bed without the cover is not doing as well.

Here is a link that might be useful: covered garden pics

• greensingh
    14 years ago

Not from your area but I have seen caterpillars at night munching down the seedlings.
    Turnip,carrots and peas were the worst effected.

• jean001
    14 years ago

Also brown garden snails, perhaps rabbits and/or birds.

• greensingh
    14 years ago

good points there. rabbit bites would be at a 45 degree angle.

• nygardener
    14 years ago

Voles will do this. Put out some mousetraps baited with peanut butter mixed with oatmeal, and see what happens.

• karen_b
    14 years ago

I've been having the same problem with my spinach and bok choy, and noticed green caterpillars. I'm going to try dusting with diatomacious earth on the soil around the plants. Wish me luck.

• cyrus_gardner
    14 years ago

Rabbits' eating habit is very obvious, they will eat things in whole, from top to bottom,some time leaving nothing behind. Summer insects will make holes.

Snails, slugs will start (usually) from the outer most leaves, will eat the tender parts, leaving behind the vains.
    Also, snail/slugs need a bigger plants to munch on, because they hang on the leaves and start chewing them.