Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbieveggiepatch

Little tiny mushrooms growing in my vegetable garden!

newbieveggiepatch
10 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am new to the whole veggie growing as I have just started a small veggie patch in a standing container. I have just noticed that I have little mushrooms popping up everywhere. I am just wondering if I should remove them? Will they effect the vegetables that are growing eg rocket? My garden has mulch on it, morning sun and I water every morning as we are having hot days around 30 degrees Celsius. Any help would be appreciated and thank you in advance.

Have a great day!

Comments (27)

• zzackey
    10 years ago

I would pull them out and then wash my hands. What state are you in?

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Same is happening in my garden. A lot of brown small and white big mushrooms are growing. It is due to mild temperatures and rain. It is early spring like weather.

Mushroom are benefitial fungi in the garden. Mushroom compost is one of the good soil amendments. So having mushrooms growing in your garden is a good news. Just let them grow then till them in or pick and throw in your compost.

• dajsnipe
    10 years ago

Probably related to the mulch your using more than the soil, either way I would leave them and let them die and compost naturally.

• newbieveggiepatch
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you all very much for your help. I really appreciate it! :)

• pnbrown
    10 years ago

Yes, it's the mulch.

• Misti Robertson
    5 years ago

It isn’t always about the wood-chips... we have absolutely NO wood-chips in our vegetable garden but these same mushrooms are everywhere. From everything I’ve read so far, it’s a sign of good soil and is best to let them compost in the soil. Most just pick them and leave them to compost.

• jenna
    3 years ago