Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
killing soil diseases with bleach

Posted by lisa-regina Ohio (My Page) on
Sat, Oct 11, 08 at 20:03

I have a friend who has a garden and is fed up with early blight and other diseases. She heard that you could kill the parvo virus in your yard using a diluted bleach solution. So she has came up with this weird idea to use this in her vegetable garden to kill out diseases in her soil. I think this is crazy, but she wants to try it anyhow. She wants to do this now while it is fall, so that all traces of bleach will be gone by planting time in the spring. I think this girl is crazy and I don't think this is a very good idea. What do you all think about this kooky idea.....Lisa

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: killing soil diseases with bleach

I'm no soil scientist but I suspect that chlorine bleach would be safe as far as it being gone by spring....or even sooner. A couple possibilities come to mind that are negative. It might take a whole lot of bleach and and some friendly critters could be killed also.

o

I'd use hydrogen peroxide.

Here is a link that might be useful: Hydrogen peroxide in the garden

o

I would be afraid of harming the soil with bleach solution. Even though I am not an organic gardening zealot, I believe micro-organisms are necessary for a "healthy" soil. There is no question that bleach will kill most micro-organisms, both good and bad.

Jim

o

• Posted by dicot Los Angeles (My Page) on
    Sun, Oct 12, 08 at 1:38

I wouldn't use bleach, I'd drench the soil with 20% vinegar.

o

We had a swimming pool that was treated with chlorine, and it drained into a flower/shrub bed and onto the lawn. The plants and the grass were in excellent health for all the years we were there, so I can't see that it would hurt anything if properly diluted. Just my opinion, not based on science.

Here is a link that might be useful: Annie's Kitchen Garden

o