Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rjinga

Nesting Onions or Multiplying Onions?

rjinga
15 years ago

When would these be planted and then when to harvest and how do you know when they are ready? How would you describe the best possible conditon of how the bulb should be? I got some on freecycle today and they seemed a bit dryed out. Since I have never grown these before, that could be perfectly normal. I was told to plant them about 10 inches apart due to them multiplying.

any tips/suggestions would be appreciated.

Comments (9)

• shebear
    15 years ago

I'm in my first year with them and ours looked like that too but I put them in the ground and kept watering. They died back and then just before I gave up on them a little piece of green poked up. Now they're growing and multiplying like mad so I'm thinking they are pretty foolproof as long as they have decent ground and some water.

The rabbit ate them back a couple of times before I just put up a fence. They never seemed to notice.....in fact I think clipping the greens makes them multiply more. I haven't pulled them so I can't tell you about size. We're trying to get enough to divide so we can get a whole row going.

• aulani
    15 years ago

rjinga,
    Here's a good article on walking onions from Mother Earth News. You plant them in the fall. Even if what you have are a bit dried out, onions have a lot of moisture and they will grow. Put them in and water well. Yes, plant them far apart because they will multiply.

http://www.motherearthnews.com/Organic-Gardening/2003-08-01/The-Other-Onions.aspx

• rushs
    15 years ago

i have been trying to get started with multiplying onions.
    if anyone could get me started i would be grateful.thanks.
    rush williamson
    po box 1927
    inez,ky. 41224 rush290@hotmail.com

• rjinga
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Do you need to clip the tops of multiplying onions the same as regular onions?

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    15 years ago