Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suzan30

winter prep?

suzan30
10 years ago

I'm a beginner gardener and have a small plot in a community garden. I've removed all the debris from my summer crops but I'm wondering if I need to do any other kind of prep. Last spring the garden was covered with weeds and digging it out was pretty labor intensive. Should I put down that black plastic stuff to keep the weeds down? Mulch? Or something else?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments (14)

• nancyjane_gardener
    10 years ago

This is when I usually add stuff like chopped up leaves and any compost I have left over if any at all. Any unused beds are covered then with cardboard. I live in a windy area that is bordered with horse farms, so if I don't cover it......weed city in the spring! I do make sure I poke holes in the cardboard so some water gets through.
    Being in a mild climate, this is when I tend to take care of my compost. I take my leaf sucker over to the neighbors' and suck up all their leaves (keeps them happy!), get buckets of UCGs and hopefully this year an unlimited amount of rabbit poop! Another neighbor has a bale of alfalfa for me!
    I also have a couple of beds of winter stuff. These days about 1/4 of my regular garden.
    I don't know much about your cold, cold places! Nancy

• sunnibel7 Md 7
    10 years ago

I don't know much about Illinois, either, but I do similar to Nancy. I put down lime and composted manure and I have settled on spreading hay over that as my winter routine (I gave cover crops a try, but it didn't quite pan out, will likely try again some year). That way the ammendments can work their way into the soil over the winter and hopefully the winter-growing weeds can be surpressed. So hopefully that gives you some ideas. Cheers!

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Winter is here.
    Just look at this temperature map , from ocean to the ocean. It is all BLUE. Except FL. and S.CAL.

Better believe it. Season is over.