Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
larrylido

My little vegetable garden... (Beginner)

LarryLido
9 years ago

Greetings,

So I'm planning my first garden and I have zero experience gardening. At the moment I'm simply considering the build of a raised vegetable garden. The plot is at the base of a tree so a raised garden seems necessary due to roots and poor quality florida soil (sand). 12-18 inches high seems pretty standard, but again I stress that I have no idea what I'm doing. I currently rent so I don't want to invest a lot of money in the garden, although I plan to continue living here for 1-3 years. And while my landlords are excited about the idea of a tenant "investing" in the property, i know that they will only approve my plans if they look presentable. Can anyone please provide advice or links concerning materials and construction? The space available is pretty large. Im thinking the garden would be rectangular and around 25-40 feet per side. So something like 90 square feet. I'd like to keep the costs under $300. $400 max. This estimate includes the build and purchasing soil. Any thoughts for a total newbie?

Comments (25)

• daninthedirt (USDA 9a, HZ9, CentTX, Sunset z30, Cfa)
    9 years ago

That sounds ambitious. But with zero garden experience and in a new site you might be better off with a much smaller bed, with the idea that you could expand it later, and gain some experience. For example, in a raised bed, it's still good to have some idea abut what's underneath, and the permeability of that soil. You get that info by digging the soil, and gardening there for a while, ideally with a raised bed on top of it. It would be unfortunate if you put in a large bed (you didn't mean 90 square feet with 25-40 foot sides, did you?) and after it was all done, decided later on some preparation you should have done on the base layer but didn't.

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago