Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jagdjh

Too many leaves

jagdjh
9 years ago

I have been gardening for a few years but just started seriously working on my soil. My bright idea this year was to have the city drop off a truckload of leaves they collected. It ended up being quite a lot of leaves. I bagged some of the leaves (35 bags!), and spread the rest in my garden. I would say the leaves are about a foot deep, and on pretty thick as they were shredded. My question is, is this too many leaves? Will it hurt or benefit my garden? Here is a video of me getting the leaves and putting them down if you are interested. Thanks for helping a noobie! (Yes, the deer at the beginning of the video may be a problem). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTVJOYP-qLQ

Comments (51)

• jctsai8b
    9 years ago

I will dig the ground and bury half the leaves with soil, it will compost faster.

This post was edited by JCTsai on Sun, Nov 30, 14 at 20:36

• jagdjh
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the replies! I'm not sure if I will be able to till it in. If I leave it as is, I guess I'm worried it will rob the soil of nitrogen. If it is just a layer of leaves, I'm ok with it since it can just be a mulch, right?

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    9 years ago

I too would till in at least some of the leaves. But I'd also leave some as a mulch. If you're worried about the leaves "robbing" the soil of nitrogen you can also mix some grass clippings (if available), composted manure (if available), a light sprinkling of bloodmeal, or some other soil amendment or fertilizer that's higher in nitrogen.

Rodney

• ltilton
    9 years ago

I always lay down some nitrogen lawn fertilizer when I till in my leaves. I think it helps in the decomposition and replaces the nitrogen lost in the process.

• glib
    9 years ago