Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sage721

Chard question

sage721
13 years ago

I'm new to swiss chard this season. Been growing spinach and other greens for a few years, but just got put on to chard. I've been eating the origional planting regularly since may, sauted (bacon and garlic will make anything good) and in my smoothies. Never bolted, just grew and grew. I cut it down flat in early september after the summer heat had passed. It grew back faster than i could have possibly imagined, and it is so much better now that the frost has hit. It is obviously pretty cold hardy and i wonder if it would survive the winter cut down flat again and mulched heavily. On the other hand, it grew so vigorously is it even worth the trouble of trying to save it? Just plant more seed of different kinds next year. Second question, any use for the root if not worth tryin to keep alive? Any good roasted w/ other root veggies? In stock? Thanks

Comments (16)

• pippimac
    13 years ago

It's biennial so if you want to save the seed you'll need to keep it alive two seasons.
    If not, I would't bother. Way easier to start again than muck about protecting it.
    As for the roots, in a word, no. They're fleshy, but not tap-rooted, and not tasty. No use for cooking.
    I hack all my large plants off low, leaving the roots in situ to decompose and provede aeration channels.
    I don't dig my garden, so that method won't work if you till!

• denninmi
    13 years ago

In Pennsylvania, it's kind of "iffy" whether or not chard will survive. It survives here on in the mildest winters. Mulching doesn't actually help much, IMO, and may be harmful even, because not only does the cold do it in, but it's really prone to rotting from the moisture trapped in the mulch. It probably WOULD work if you wanted to put some kind of a cloche/coldframe/low tunnel over it and use a really dry mulch, like straw or pine needles, and keep it dry with the structure.