Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
a13art

How to get a jump start on 2014 garden?

a13art
10 years ago

So after building my raised garden bed this summer I noticed that a lot of my plants mainly were producing a lot more fruits towards the end of August and September. So I have been thinking about constructing a hoop house hopping that I can get a jump start on planting them. However I am still new to this and could use a little insight on how effective hoop house are. And how much of an early start it will get me and what's the best way to start my seeds indoor for this method. My garden is 16x8 and I use a walk way down the center. My plan is to get PVC and hanger clamps and some 3mil plastic and build it roughly in the 100$ range.

Comments (13)

• a13art
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here's a better picture to understand the lay out. The bed is 12 inches high and the 4x4 post are an extra foot or so higher. I don't plan to heat it, I feel like that is to much work and being a college student I don't have unlimited free time.

• seysonn
    10 years ago

I also think that extending growth season is one way dealing with short season. You can do it by either early extension or late or a combination of both.

I am of the opinion that in my climate it is better to do EARLY extension. It is less costly and short lived. But late season extension is more difficult because at that time it continues the get colder every day. Plus , considering the size of the plants it seems to be more costly. Another thing is that if I had a successful summer, then I have already enjoyed the fruits of my labor and I would rather concentrate on fall/cool crops for change.
    So the choice is a personal and climatical.

• ceth_k
    10 years ago

Those are some really nice looking tomatoes.

• a13art
    Original Author
    10 years ago