Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
missemerald

Asparagus Winterizing Questions... HELP?

missemerald
14 years ago

This is my first year with asparagus. Bought and planted 2nd year crowns early in the spring... one row of male Jersey Giants and one of Mary Washington. The Jerseys grew like crazy (do they have seeds? some have little round red things on them) but the MWs are not. Jersey had lots of growth, slender and plentiful stalks, very robust; MW is spindly and not at all productive. Anyway, what do I do to winterize them, now that the stalks are turning yellow? I have not cut anything from them to date (except for a few fronds for a floral arrangement earlier this summer). Do I cut them to the ground or not? Cover them with something or...? And, since I brought 2nd year crowns, does that mean that I can harvest a few next spring or do I continue to wait for another year? Thanks!

Comments (5)

• marlingardener
    14 years ago

Sounds like you have done everything right so far. Yes, asparagus has seeds, at least the female plants do. Winterizing is easy--we are in Central Texas 8b, so our conditions are similar to yours. After the stalks turn completely yellow, cut them off about 2" from the ground (this is so you can tell where to look for growth next spring), and mulch with chopped up leaves or hay or compost.
    In the spring, when growth just starts, fertilize. Then fertilize again in late spring, and again in mid-summer. Asparagus is a hearty eater!
    You should be able to harvest a few next spring. Use your own judgement as to how big the stalks are and how many there are. If the growth seems sufficient to you, enjoy!

• tcstoehr
    14 years ago