Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dshaival

Cucumber Nutritional Deficiency

dshaival
9 years ago

Hi guys,
I'm a farmer based out of Shmedabad, Gujarat, India. I'm cultivating my cucumbers in cocopeat and the growth is pretty good (they've grown 8 feet tall). The new leaves look great but the older leaves are slowly turning yellow, then white and showing veins. The cucumber company suggested that it is a result of over watering. 2 other people I consulted suggested sulfur deficiency. The growth looks good overall but I'm worried about this particular incidence. Please guide me if there's any nutritional deficiency.
Appreciate your help!

Comments (6)

• daninthedirt (USDA 9a, HZ9, CentTX, Sunset z30, Cfa)
    9 years ago

Can't say much without a soil test. Sulfur is used to acidify soil, but cukes will tolerate some alkalinity. Leaf yellowing is indeed a sign of overwatering in cukes (as is powdery mildew), though I'm not sure if that is applicable only to older leaves.

In the picture you show, the leaf doesn't quite look yellow, but with green veins. That's chlorosis, which is a form of anemia. You see it in old leaves. Chlorosis is a sign of iron or magnesium deficiency, I believe. Again, soil test is needed. Now, if the soil is highly alkaline, it may interfere with iron absorption, so that may be where the recommendation for sulfur comes in.

• steve333_gw
    9 years ago

You can do a search online for nutrient deficiencies in cucumber plants and compare pics for yourself. But I would agree that it looks like iron or Mg is low. That may be due to or made worse by over watering.

A soil test or even better a leaf analysis would give more conclusive answers. But you could experiment with some foliar sprays. For Mg some Epsom salts dissolved in water is a good source, and relatively cheap and available (at least here). I forget the recommended dilution but it can be looked up fairly easily. Chelated Fe is also available if the Mg does not help.