Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kawaiineko_gardener

need help with strawberries!

I'd like to grow strawberries next growing season.

I don't have a piece of land for myself to use, so I can't go with the normal varieties where they have to be established and stay there for more than a year.

However I did find this variety...

It's called a ruegen strawberry and says it'll produce fruit the first year it's grown.

I'd like to use hanging baskets for it, as this will conserve my space. However what size pot should I use (12", 16", etc.)

It says it has no runners, that it's bushy, and that it only reaches 8"-10" tall.

Comments (8)

• zzackey
    9 years ago

It depends on how many strawberries you have to plant. I see them most often in a 10" hanging basket. You could plant 4 or 5 plants in that size.

• soilent_green
    9 years ago

I have been growing red alpines for around twenty years. Difficulty level starting plants from seed is similar to impatiens. Very fragile plants for the first few weeks but once they take off they are very hardy and grow fast. Plants started from seed will produce berries the first year, but later in the season when they have grown large enough. I really like alpines but sure wish the plants could be just a bit more productive.

Each year I transplant quantity 6 one-year-old alpine strawberry plants from the garden bed into a half barrel planter that has a shallow insert. Arrangement is one plant in the center and five around the outside. This number of plants ends up filling out the entire space, any more and they would be too thick and there could be disease issues such as powdery mildew. By the end of the season the crowns are easily three to four inches in diameter and the roots fill the entire barrel insert. At season's end I transplant the plants back into the garden bed and use new one year old plants next season.