Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
canuckistani

When Do People Start Growing Indoors For Spring Planting?

canuckistani
15 years ago

Hello folks,

I'm still pretty new to gardening, but hooked and in it for the long run...already thinking about next season!

Just wondering how early people start growing their seedlings indoors...anyone willing to share? Kind of wondering why people don't start growing their various veggies a lot earlier indoors (like several months). Any thoughts on the best times to start growing indoors (presuming growing indoors is no problem) to get the best harvest during the real growing season?

Would like to grow tomatos, cucumbers, squash, melons, roots crops, peas etc etc. the usual stuff I guess.

Thanks!

Comments (15)

• denninmi
    15 years ago

Well, obviously, it depends on what you're growing and where you're growing it. I believe, if memory serves me, you're in the Toronto area, so your climate is essentially the same as mine here in the Detroit area, give or take a few days either way. I'd suggest the following timetables:

Leeks, onions -- by the end of January, but grow them cool. Can plant outside by mid-April, after a few weeks of hardening off.

Peppers, Eggplants, Globe Artichoke -- by late February, outside in May. Be sure to use lots of light.

Early Tomatoes, for large transplants -- late February to early-mid March, outside in May.

Main crop tomatoes -- late March is a about right, outside in May

Vine crops -- cucumbers, melons, squash, similar crops - early April, about 4 to 5 weeks ahead of transplant time.