Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nancyjane_gardener

strawberries

nancyjane_gardener
11 years ago

Yeah, yeah, I know they aren't a vege, but they are grown along side the vege garden!
I was given several divisions last year through a freecycle/type thing, but I didn't get what type strawberries these are.
I've never grown SBs because I'm allergic, so I'm not sure what to do with these plants. They are in a raised bed in our school garden and looking very healthy!
Do I let them grow a couple of years before dividing? divide now during winter? I'm pretty sure this was the time of year I picked them up. The woman was dividing them late winter/early spring.
Thoughts? Happy gardening! Nancy

Comments (10)

• ceth_k
    11 years ago

I have no experience with growing strawberries. Sorry.
    {{gwi:134737}}

• ltilton
    11 years ago

You might try the fruit forum.

My experience with strawberries probably doesn't transplant to your area. But the first question has to be - what do you want to do with the strawberries? What are your strawberry goals?

• zzackey
    11 years ago

Keep them well fertilized and watered. Pull any bad looking leaves off of them. I know a lady that fertilizes with Miracle Gro and she gets tons more berries that I do. Here in zone 8b they don't do much the second year. The Ag center recommends planting new plants every year. I was stubborn and I'm trying to keep them going. The berries are puny. I used 6-6-6 on them and Osmocote. Nothing seems to work. See if you have runners growing and use them as your new plants. Good luck!

• sunnibel7 Md 7
    11 years ago