Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
robert2014_gw

A look back to the 2014 season

2014 was my second year of gardening, so needless to say I am still a novice at this. However, gardenweb has been very helpful and I got plenty of great answers to the questions I had. I was thinking to make this post for a while, but got delayed due to lack of time. Now that Christmas is over, I thought of sitting down and share my experience here.

I have about 1,300 square feet of garden space. I planted the following,
beans, beets, butternut squash, carrots, cilantro, swiss chard, cucumber, eggplant, gourd, okra, onion, peas, pepper, radish, spinach, tomato, turnip, squash and zuchhini.
And here is what I harvested,
{{gwi:2118413}}

I really want to know from the experienced members here, how did I do. Was the production good enough, or not even close?

The sq feet are approximate. I did do some succession planting, like once radish was done I put pepper in its place. Then when cucumber was done I put radish/turnip in its place. Other than peas nothing was trellised. All beans were bush bean variety. I had lot of different types of peppers, such as jalapeno, habaneros, super chilli, bells, cowpeas, poblanos. I clubbed them all together when I weighed them.

Now the lessons that I learned were,
1. I cannot grow spinach well. I tried multiple times, both during spring and fall. But the harvest was miserable. Please let me know how can I do better. I used the bloomsdale long standing variety. But I really liked the taste.
2. Jade 2 is an awesome bean variety.
3. I need better supports for tomatoes. The plants were huge.
4. I planted burpee waltham butternut seeds as well as seeds from a store bought butternut squash. The plants from store bought butternut was way better, both from quantity and quality point of view. I was very surprised.