Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iluvmaine_gw

newbie needing advice

iluvmaine
10 years ago

Newbie here and I would be most grateful for some advice on foundation plantings. I've attached a photo to this posting.

My husband tied our foundation plantings to the hitch of his truck and ripped them all out of the ground. All that is left is an arborvitae and a couple pieris japonica that are doing very well over near our garage. We are having our roof replaced soon and it will be gray. We need to start from scratch on the foundation plantings. I'm quite lost.

The house is in Zone 5b (coastal Maine). It faces northwest and the foundation plantings will get no light until 2PM, about 2 hours of sun from 2 to 4 PM and mostly shade through large oak and spruce trees from 4PM to 7PM. Our two front steps are only about knee high.

We have a septic tank in the grass only a couple feet in front of the brick walkway right in front of the front steps of the house so we cannot move the brick walkway outward into the grass or plant outside of the brick walkway. That leaves about 3.5 feet of dirt to work with between the house and the brick walkway on the side of the front steps heading toward the garage.

Facing the house, the right side of the front steps is much deeper for gardening with no concerns about septic in that area. In that spot, I planted a Seiryu japanese maple about 7 feet out from the right corner of the house; it is only a three year old tree and you can barely see it in the picture. It is really just a twig right now that appears directly below the woodpile in the picture if you look closely. I just stuck it in the ground so I can move it easily.