Return to the Landscape Design Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Suggestions for planting under picture window

Posted by newbieremodeler 5 (IL) (My Page) on
Thu, Jan 20, 11 at 13:07

Hi! I am new to the garden forum, as I have been hanging out a lot at the kitchen forum. My DH and I bought this house 2.5 years ago and want to replace the three bushes that are located under the picture window. However, we are not sure what to replace them with. Our gas meter is in front of the house (behind far left bush) and DH would like to hide as much of the foundation as possible. Info that maybe helpful--The tree in front is a magnolia and then we have the large pine to the right of that and behind the pine is a red bud. The house faces east.

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks again!

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Suggestions for planting under picture window

I don't know if your place be cold in winter,I add my Buffalo friend evergreen rock,juniper,conifer...maybe you select:
Photobucket

o

looks like the walkway defines the bed. with pine tree and magnolia indicator, go with something low maintenance. jap maple, blood good, something low growing, goldthread cypress, hydrangea, compact holly or boxwood, perrenial arrangements, magnus coneflower, lavender, etc...

Here is a link that might be useful: Lafayette Landscape & Construction, Inc.

o

Thanks Lafayetteri! Your advice and link is much appreciated!

o

Wow, you had bad luck with this thread, first you get the crazy Chinese guy and then you get someone who just wants to flog his company and gives you a bunch of random plant names to make it sound credible.

Well, maybe there's still hope.