Return to the Landscape Design Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Landscape Help Choosing Plants

Posted by david_47 CA (My Page) on
Mon, Jan 17, 11 at 14:25

I recently pulled out a very large tree which hid most of the area I am now seeking a remake of. I am looking for a design (plant ideas) that will not obstruct the view from inside and will also match the ranch style home and cause the eye to flow to the front door.

Being a novice, I'm unsure where to start. I read on textures, flow, etc.. but need more specific assistance.

Any suggestions to the type of plants I should consider? Other things I'm not considering?

Link to pictures of the area are posted

Here is a link that might be useful: Project Area in Pictures

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Landscape Help Choosing Plants

You're at a terrible disadvantage in that your front door isn't visible from the driveway. However, the corner window attracts the eye strongly, and the curve of the front walk -- echoed by the raised bed's stone border -- leads directly to the front door. Ideally the landscaping should do the same.

So I'd plant something bold and bright along the entire wall of the raised bed, not much taller than the stone border. (I'd remove the gold shrubs next to the garage.)

In the back corner of the bed, I'd put something large that looks good but doesn't hog visitors' attention. (What's in the back corner of the raised bed? Gas meter? Does anyone need to get back there?)

Between the bright border planting and the tall corner shrub, I'd put something mid-height, no taller than the bottom of the window. Like the corner shrub, this shouldn't attract more attention than the bright border planting.