Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tired_of_digging

Garden on movable platform?

tired_of_digging
12 years ago

I am studying the possibilities of installing a garden setting on a platform, such as a trailer or anything that is big enough and mobile. It will feature in a short story. I have found that a roof-garden infrastructure may be a good thing to look at, as it features water conservation, optional drainage water and rain water recycling and a leakage-protection system to protect the roof. I haven't found a "serious" design on the web, and most pictures reveal designs that would make fun of their builders.

In order to make the idea appealing to the public, I thought about making the mobile garden look (as well as be) as professional as possible. This is a good example to convey my idea:

http://members.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewUserPage&userid=cillajune

yet, it is not professionally built by a designer. My concept needs to be appealing, water-wise, and apply as much as possible of the techniques for saving space on a small area. Other possible features may include vertical settings. I thought of using roof-garden soil, which is lighter than water in a hydroponic system. My idea favours a vegetable garden, and a plantation area for small fruit trees, such as Kumquat, dwarf figs and any fruit tree small enough to be grown that way.

Comments (9)

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    12 years ago

One thing you neglected to say was WHY you are exploring ideas for a mobile gardening vehicle. I presume you're looking for people to help you brainstorm some practical ideas. Knowing the "why" of it might help keep the brainstorms reasonably in check.

• tanowicki
    12 years ago

I seem to recall reading an article in the NY Times about someone who had turned a pickup truck into a mobile garden and took it to various schools. I want to say it is somehow related to they guy who did King Corn.