Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gpat83

Yard Design Blank Canvas

gpat83
11 years ago

I am not sure where to start, I am new to all of this gardening thing. I am just asking for any and all ideas. I am pretty open. Last year I planted a Rhododendron and two Hydrangeas and two bleeding hearts. It just still looks a little bare.
I do not have enough money to hire a designer and I want to learn as I do it myself with the advice of others.
I have many pictures but I am not sure how to upload more than one at a time. This picture is of the front of the house. I am also willing to email the pictures I have if you are serious about helping this guy out.
Thanks!

Comments (10)

• gpat83
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Another front picture

• gpat83
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Back yard

• gpat83
    Original Author
    11 years ago

North East side of house

• gpat83
    Original Author
    11 years ago

West side of house

• gpat83
    Original Author
    11 years ago

West side, most shade in this area.

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    11 years ago

The front walk jumps out as being too narrow and out of scale with house. A walk that matches the width of the steps would be much better. It could be replaced entirely with a more attractive material such as brick, or if it's in relatively decent shape, it could be widened. Similarly, the back deck would be improved if it had something better than the small stepping stones as its walk.

• gpat83
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I agree. I was planning on increasing the size of the walk way once the weather warms up. I bought the molds to make my own stones. I attached a picture. I am thinking in the front I will maybe do a different color. Also since I took this picture I also filled in the spaces with some stones. I am just not sure if this style will go with the house.
    Thanks for this. Any thoughts as to what to plant and where?

• gpat83
    Original Author
    11 years ago