Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tuchina

Shallow raised bed here?

Tuchina
12 years ago

Hey all,

I'm new to this forum so I hope I'm posting in the correct place.

Some back info: My backyard was severely neglected for years before I moved into the home. I've been here now for about three years and I've spent a lot of time cleaning it up. I would like to do a little bit of landscaping as well but I'm pretty new at it.

The pics below are of an area around mature tree with exposed roots that I don't know what to do with, if anything at all. In addition, there is a long metal pipe stuck in the middle of the tree that it has grown around.

{{gwi:8996}}

{{gwi:8999}}

{{gwi:9002}}

Is there anything I can do to improve the look of this area? I was thinking about maybe building a shallow 12'x12' bed for some shade plants or a rock garden around the tree but (as there are exposed roots) I'm not sure if it would be a good idea.

Also, what to do about the metal pipe sticking out? I suppose I could try to saw through it and cut off the ends (leaving the middle of it still stuck in the tree) but I'd like to explore all options.

Thanks in advance!

Comments (24)

• designoline6
    12 years ago

Rock garden---good ideas
    {{gwi:9004}}

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    12 years ago

Your photos are a little too close up to show the context of the situation in regards to adding landscape elements. Cannot tell what's around the tree that it should relate to. I think a raised bed not a good idea. Better would be a groundcover around the tree. And it will not work if it's a dog run.