Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
erin_farr

Need help with privacy screening!

Hi all, I'm new to gardening and moved into this home at the end of the summer last year. I basically worked on moving in and clean up in the yard and didn't pay much attention to the surroundings. This year I really want to sink my teeth into the gardens. The first area I want to tend to is the small garden in the back. Currently it has a small weeping japanese maple, some ferns I threw in at the end of the season (obviously these can be transplanted) and what I believe is some kind of lilac tree. There is a road in the back so I am looking for something evergreen that will grow tall but not too tall as I am hoping to keep, at minimum, the japanese maple and I don't want whatever I plant to take away from it. At first I was thinking of a Leyland cypress but then found out how huge they get, then I was thinking of a rhododendron but they are slow growing and I want the privacy asap....so now I am stuck! Please help!

The photo I have included is the view from our dinette.

Comments (14)

• Erin Farr (Niagara Zone 6)
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Here is another photo....this is on the deck where the patio set is located...and a better angle of the garden but both views need to tended too, especially the first photo since it is "year-round" view!!

• catkim
    11 years ago

Repeat the tall twiggy thing next to the shed -- add one or two more along the fence, by the bench and the pots, if there is enough room.

Do you have any photos from spring or summer?

Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for the help....I've cross posted in the shrub section and I think I am leaning towards conifers (specifically emerald green arborvitae) since I do have a large mature evergreen in the yard already and the conifers will add some unity

I'm attaching some additional photos of the whole yard and my whole plan (just a quick, not to scale sketch).