Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suz9601

Need help, not sure what to plant (pics included)

suz9601
10 years ago

Hi guys. I am about to landscape down the side of my fence and am not sure what I should put there. I am fairly new to gardening (have a couple of years under my belt) but feel overwhelmed at the blank slate I have. I was wondering if you all have any ideas. The area is about 35-40 feet long. The middle part is about 3-4 deep and around the tree and at the other end, maybe 5-6 feet deep from fence. I am looking for shrubs and perennials mainly. Thanks for any ideas. I really appreciate any help. The area gets full sun. I hope you can make out the area I have marked with the extension cord in the pic.

Comments (10)

• suz9601
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Close up of garden area

• suz9601
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Other end of garden area

• sc77 (6b MA)
    10 years ago

What are your goals? Are you looking for privacy that goes above the fence line or just small shrubs? 3-4ft is a relatively narrow space, so that would limit your choices if you are not looking for upright growth. Any chance that space could be expanded?

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    10 years ago

A bed line similar to this would be more realistic, unless you just want to plant a row of annuals or something narrow. When you share your goals it will be possible to make suggestions.

• suz9601
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I can expand the space. The yard isn't very large that is why I had such a narrow space, but I guess it would be fine to enlarge it. My goals are just to have something nice to look at and maybe feed some wildlife (birds) in process. I already have a wildgarden and butterfly garden in the yard, so looking for something that looks nice now.