Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lovetorenovate_gw

landscape design ideas - shady formal garden

lovetorenovate
14 years ago

I'm new to the garden forums - but mostly do historic renovation work (and frequent the kitchen, bath, paint, and decorating forums - although I love to garden too). The house I live in now, I'm planning to stay in - so I'm down to some of the finer details that I don't always get to when I buy, renovation, and sell every 2 years.

I've got an area between my house and my neighbors which is completely void of any landscape design. There's a large tree which shades the area. I'd like to create a formal garden - maybe Charleston style. I've got two young boys and the backyard is full of toys, bikes, playset, etc - I'd love for this side yard to be elegant and tranquil. I'm considering an arbor as an "entrance" from both the front and the back yard. I'd really like a water feature as well - maybe a fountain as well as a place to sit and relax.

Here are some photos. I'd love your ideas on what might work well here.

the front of my house: {{gwi:11362}}

area between mine and the neighbors:

{{gwi:11363}}

close up of area as viewed from my backyard:

{{gwi:11364}}

Thanks so much!

Comments (7)

• holleygarden Zone 8, East Texas
    14 years ago

You have several things you need to remember when designing your garden. First, you want a fountain but you have two small children. So, I would suggest you go with a 'pondless' water feature (the water goes into gravel instead of standing water before recirculating), or a wall fountain. Both of these are usually smaller and would fit the space well. I've also seen a water feature that was beautiful and only 1" deep. They kept it colored to give it an illusion of depth.

The other thing to remember is that you will have leaf droppings continually, so you could either go with pavers or concrete if you wanted to blow off the leaves, but definitely not pebbles or gravel.