Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
freebie_gw

DIY project gone awry

freebie
13 years ago

As you can see by the picture, I am not very good at landscaping. I have been working on building this retaining wall with a flowing rock stairway. It was supposed to look as if a river of rocks was cascading down the slope providing a stair way to the top. Instead I have almost dug a trench through the slope. I have been working on it for a couple of years, but am determined to get it done this year. If someone can please advise me on how to build the stairs using the rocks (I really don't want to use cement). I virtually have tons of rocks at my disposal.

{{gwi:13285}}

Comments (8)

• laag
    13 years ago

Take your cue from nature. What do you see in a natural creek that "steps down"? You see bigger rocks that have caught the smaller rocks and other material behind them.

What do you see on stable creek banks? If the stream is steep, it will also be larger rocks. Inexperienced people often do not think about how to handle the sides of stairways.The steeper the slope, the bigger the issue

I'd siggest getting at least a minimal separation between your steps and the timber wall so that you can buffer it with at least some vegetation. It needs a disconnect.

• whitecap
    13 years ago

I like the stone retaining wall at the top (if that's what it is), but I can't seem to get my head around this "stairway." Is this some exercise in postmodern sculpture, intended only for contemplation? You wouldn't actually try to walk on this, would you? Is it contemplated that the "stairway" would extend past the course of stone at the top to the area near the fence? Makes my ankles hurt to think about it. If it's all just for show, I don't see the problem with simply connecting the lines of rock. That would give you a better "cascading" effect than terracing. It would strike me as somewhat artless, but I know I'm slow.

• catkim
    13 years ago