Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barbieberry

Garden Color Scheme?

gardenbug
14 years ago

On Sunday I purchased 2 really beautiful climbing roses for my garden fence. The are called 'Polka' an old fashion rose with gorgeous apricot/peach blooms. I have a purple lilac and a blue hydrangea. What other colors will work in my flower bed? Thanks everyone for your help. This is fun!

Here is a link that might be useful: Help me to select flowers for my garden bed?

Comments (6)

• joannemb
    14 years ago

I'm new to landscaping, but am an artist.... I love the complementary colors of the peach roses with the blue hydrangea. If I were to add another color it would be yellow to contrast with the lilac. Add white in everywhere else to bring it all together.

• wellspring
    14 years ago

Cadence-

If you check back with your original thread, you may notice that what most posters were really doing didn't have a lot to do with color.

Color is important, but it doesn't come into play before getting the arrangement of things worked out. This forum mostly focuses on the arrangement of things. Some of us do, occasionally, recommend a plant combination, but it's done with fear and trembling. Getting a great combination of plants doesn't make a lot of sense on the landscape design forum, until and unless many other steps have been taken to actually design the garden.

Choosing the colors of plants is a little like picking throw pillows before you've put in the walls, doors, windows, halls in a home. You don't buy throw pillows and then say "I'll build a house to fit these!"

Not that that's what you did ... you have put thought into what you are doing. I'm only bringing this up because you may not get as many responses here on this question, especially because it's sort of the same question all over again.