Return to the Landscape Design Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Paver patio questions

Posted by lsuman (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 17, 08 at 15:08

Im new at building my backyard paver patio. I have a question on why to use paver base/sand...is it necessary and why? I did small portion of a paver before with the base/sand but ended up becoming uneven anyway. Why can't I just set it on top of dirt?

Open to suggestions and comments

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Paver patio questions

You don't give your zone, so your question is hard to answer.

What climate do you live in?

How big an area are you doing?

What kind of a slope are you working on?

Are you zealous about doing maintenance?

KarinL

o

• Posted by lsuman southeast louisiana (My Page) on
    Tue, Mar 18, 08 at 4:11

In louisiana,hot and humid.Plan on doing 10x10 area. Just need advice on how important the base is...why is it necessary?

o

Crap, you didn't answer all my questions. That means I either can't fully answer your question, or it means I have to type more. I've got lots of other typing to do today so I'll have to leave the issue of slope for you to figure out on your own.

OK, the main purpose of the base is to reduce frost heave and also to provide drainage. They are related... water collection means more frost effect. No freezing temps means you don't need the gravel base. You probably don't need the sand (in our climate, some freeze, we prefer to use the sand, though we skip the packed gravel).

If you've previously had sinkage of a patio you built with no frost, it is likely you didn't do the site prep well enough, specifically the compacting. No matter what is under the pavers, it needs to be compacted AND HELD IN PLACE (that's where slope can come in, but even without, you need edging). Ants can also create cavities underground that cause sinkage.