Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
movinginva_gw

Would a concrete paver patio look odd here?

movinginva
12 years ago

Hello all,

This is my first time in the Landscape Design area of GardenWeb. Since a back patio right now requires interior renovation, I have decided that I would do a front patio where my flower bed is right now.

My thought is a semicircle that starts where the mailbox is goes around the bay window, continuing into a rectangular area that stops where the large shrub is to the left of the house. The mailbox will be moved, and I will also do some repainting of shutters etc. I was also thinking of adding a few plants at certain spots on the perimeter of the patio for some privacy. Does that seem visually appealing? Does it make sense, or is it a bad idea? Does anyone have any other ideas that may make more sense than the one I have. We do not have an outdoor seating area, and I would really like one, but I also want it to look nice. Any and all suggestions, thoughts or ideas will be appreciated.

I have gotten a few good ideas from the home decorating forum on GW and I thought that the folks in here may also have some good ideas.

Thank you.

{{gwi:17107}}

Comments (50)

• whitecap2
    12 years ago

The spirit of idle curiosity prompts me to inquire whether you have noticed any streetside patios in your area.

• designoline6
    12 years ago

I agree.Just tough shade tolerant shrubs work in
    some spot.
    {{gwi:17109}}

• movinginva
    Original Author
    12 years ago

@designonline6, thank you for that idea. I do like it, and I could see that working. The only question I have is, do you have any suggestions for space directly in front of the house where I had originally planned on putting the patio? I have a hard time growing anything there. Thanks again!

@whitecap2, most houses here have a porch of some sort, and/or a deck on the back. I have seen only one or two with anything like the space I have in mind.

• catkim
    12 years ago