What would you plant here (newbie)

merdena
13 years ago

{{gwi:17652}}

Comments (8)

• merdena
    Original Author
    13 years ago

For some reason my text (user error) my text did not attach with my pic above. I had the beds put in last year and this picture is of North side of house in OK. It is about 12 x 15 on east (left in pic) and 12 x 19 on west (right) side. There are ferns up against the house under the windows. They survived the winter very well and are putting out new shoots. There are barberrys on both corners. They are doing okay. Last year I had calladiums where the tall rocks are in the center. The calladiums did not do so well. The leaves looked burned even though they did not get a lot of sun. I had elephant ears just west of the area shown, and they did extremely well last year. I just wasn't smart enough to know that you are supposed to dig them up. I am a gardening newbie, and want something low maintenance, but pretty. Ideas?

• kansascitylandscaper
    13 years ago

What part of OK are you in - do you know what landscaping zone?

• missingtheobvious
    13 years ago

merdena, you can enter your zip code here and find your USDA zone:
    http://www.garden.org/zipzone/index.php

Impatiens is a copiously-flowering annual that is easy to find, usually flowering in a range of white-pink-red-purple shades.

Heucheras (aka coral bells; all sorts of leaf colors) do well in shade; astilbes and tiarellas are similar, though without wild leaf colors. Vinca minor (lavender blue flowers) is happy in shade, though it will take over; people either love it or hate it. Lamium is another spreader; it has a variety of leaf patterns as well as bloom colors. Hostas come in all sizes, with leaf colors in the green-blue-cream range and white-to-purple flowers on tall spikes.