Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dallas2002

Front yard updating - I'm new at this...

Dallas2002
13 years ago

Hi everyone!

I haven't been in my home long, and my landscaping has really started to bother me. Obviously, dealing with the dandelions is on the list, but I'm mostly interested in updating the look for some more modern curb appeal. I'm prepared to completely wipe out what is existing, and replace with new. I don't have an endless supply of money, but I'm prepared to do a lot of the work myself, with the help of your direction. :-)

I've included a picture for reference or use if you happen to be good with photoshop.

Thank you!

[IMG]http://i1234.photobucket.com/albums/ff401/DallasUrwin/DSCN0582.jpg[/IMG]

Comments (10)

• Dallas2002
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Let me try that picture again!

{{gwi:19412}}

• AncientDragonfly
    12 years ago

Leave the dandilions and let them spread. They echo the yellow of the bushes on the right in a much needed way. More dandilions would make it better.

I would not, however, replace the bushes to the left with more yellow.

What bothers you about the landscape?

• jantom37
    12 years ago

Hello,

You have such a beautiful home! I dug up my entire yard last year to turn the entire yard into a garden. Have you given thought to the style you prefer? Formal? Xeric?

I've done a ton of research and would love to not only help with ideas, but to see the progress!

Have you thought of window boxes in front to soften the look? Geraniums and marigolds with sweet potato vine, etc. would give a flowing effect and color that would be easily seen from the street.

I strongly recommend against keeping dandelions. They are weeds and aside from your neighbors consternation, I'm sure you'd end up regretting.