Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
canada_east

Solution to offset strange house front (2 front doors)

canada-east
12 years ago

Hi,

I would like to landscaping to offset the strange front of this house: it has two front doors. It is a small bungalow with a deck centered on the front of the house and with two doors. I can't envision a landscaping solution to work with this and the size of the house (and high foundation). Should it be a symetrical approach?? It is in the country and I like small gold spirea,blue irises, flox... I am new to gardening.

Here's a picture. I am looking into moving the driveway from the front to the side. But that may be too expensive to me. So that is another aspect.

{{gwi:19836}}

{{gwi:19837}}

{{gwi:19838}}

I would love a solution I could implement over time.

Thanks so much for your help!

Comments (13)

• designoline6
    12 years ago

I like small gold spirea,blue irises, flox...too.here are my some design.

{{gwi:19839}}

• designoline6
    12 years ago

{{gwi:19840}}

• karinl
    12 years ago

An interesting set-up, but to tell you the truth, I don't see the problem until someone actually gets onto your porch and has to pick a door to knock on. So I don't really see a landscaping problem. In determining landscaping, the location of the door you want to highlight would be the smallest of issues, because there is just one set of stairs to get to.

I see the decorating and arranging problem - it is your "back" deck that people are coming through to your "front" door" but the solutions there are things like light, mailbox, house number. And Barbeque next to back door, not front. Moving the stairs would be the most obvious solution, but I'd be hesitant to tear out what look like new stairs to me.

But landscaping? There would have to be other objectives besides clarifying the door, because that one objective doesn't point to any landscaping decisions. What else do you want your landscaping to do?