Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shawnseth71

Cost of regrading backyard

shawnseth71
14 years ago

Hi All

I have been an avid fan of this forum for the past year since I bought my new 'old' house. I have been renovating it in bits and pieces saving the outside for last. But Mother Nature had other plans and threw me a curveball in the form of a deluge last month. My house is on a flat 1 acre lot dipping towards my foundation and the neighbors' properties drain into mine. My lawn is perpetually soggy. My french drain turns on at least 4-5 times a day regularly and once every minute on a heavy downpour. Last month, my basement windows had water pouring down them. So, I have approached landscapers to regrade my property near my foundation. I am getting a quote for $ 3000 to regrade just my backyard and one side - maybe a 70 linear feet, 5 ft wide. As I am new to all this, I want to know if it is reasonable. The landscaper mentioned that it was an easy job as my soil was already very compacted, he just needed to add dirt. What do you think?

Comments (10)

• inkognito
    14 years ago

You have done well to research before laying out your hard earned cash. Do you know how the previous owners dealt with this problem? Is the neighbours house new? When you say "My french drain turns on at least 4-5 times a day" do you mean a sump pump inside a basement? How is regrading going to solve the problem?

• lehua49
    13 years ago

Hi shawn or seth,