Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chestnut3

Help for front of house.

chestnut3
12 years ago

Hi! Thanks in advance for any help from you experts. I'm new at this. We removed 7 huge trees that totally covered the front of our house and now need some serious curb appeal. The front porch (pad and wall) is being replaced in a few weeks and then a roof put over it. The porch will end between the 2 windows on either side. The A/C unit will go in front of the sunroom. We would like a little privacy for the porch but not full coverage. I'd like to coordinate colors with the red tile roof. I would like a combination of shrubs, trees, and flowering plants which will provide color year round. I live in Pittsburgh, PA, have deer and full sun.

Thanks!

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:20689}}

Comments (14)

• designoline6
    12 years ago

I try to design.
    {{gwi:20701}}

• designoline6
    12 years ago

{{gwi:20703}}

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    12 years ago

I suggest that you post a better photo. this one is too small and shows the house, but not yard. Can you post one that is square on from the street? Do you have any sketches of the proposed porch? Detail is not clear from your description. Need to see whole front yard.

• chestnut3
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Designonline thanks for your input!
    Yardvaark, I don't have any post-able plans for the porch. It will look similar, although not as long, and have a terra cotta tile roof. The support columns will be between the 2 windows on either side of the front door. 4 steps will lead down to the yard and a walkway straight down to the street- all exposed aggregate like the porch floor. The house sits up pretty high- looking out from my porch, I'm looking into the 2nd floor across the street.