Return to the Landscape Design Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help with yard

Posted by Michielyn none (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 16, 14 at 10:54

I bought a house that has been vacant for 3 years, and the yard needs work. This year I'm rehabbing the grass, updating the mulching and filling in this spot. I'm a complete beginner, this is my first house and I'm not really creative - but I really enjoy working on the yard. I'm hoping to find something that would be safe and attractive. Maybe some bushes, plants or a dwarf tree? Not sure about roots though or the timing. I live outside of Seattle Washington and my door faces SW.

First off, a current picture of the empty spot. The house edges are ~ 8 x 7 feet. I've since attempted to kill all the weeds/vegetation.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help with yard

I'm on my phone and can only post one photo at a time.

This is a picture from zillow from when the previous owners lived here. So you can get a better idea of the space. I wish my grass was this green.

My husband wants a fountain, but I think the DIY kind looks out of place.

o

A basic arranging idea:

o

That's pretty!

I feel so overwhelmed and pretty much need "paint by numbers" because of all the options. So this is perfect. Thank you.

Next I need to tackle the weird tree hill in the right of the picture.

o

Weird tree? All I see is a pine behind the house. Maybe the picture isn't broad enough?

Suzi

o

I would definately put in a water feature! Either centered in front of your window or hang something on the opposite wall. I love the sound of water and it would be nice for visitors to hear as they walk up your sidewalk. Even if you open that front window you would be able to hear it inside your home.
Then I would put a small flowering tree, maybe some hydrangeas and then some ground cover that blooms or low flowering begionas or impatience.

You have a nice spot to work with and your home is lovely!

o

Suzi,