Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
missyv_gw

Seeking landscape help!

MIssyV
9 years ago

Thank you in advance for giving us some input on our landscape. This was my grandma's house, we bought it 11 years ago and have been slowly updating the inside. Finally, the landscaping will be getting a small upgrade!

Our house is looooonngg... so hoping maybe landscaping will help offset that visually. This year we would like to focus on the front of the house, so I am attaching pictures for your input. My main trouble area is the small bed that lies between the walkway to our porch and our porch.

Again, thank you!
Missy, in Ohio

Comments (21)

• MIssyV
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This is the walkway I was referring to that you are unable to see from the full front street shot above.

• cheryleb
    9 years ago

I am not an expert by any means but I find that a mix of straight lines and curves is more appealing than all of one or the other. The front of your home has a lot of straight lines and changing the flower bed to a more organic curved bed would help to offset the horizontal and vertical lines. You could also add a tree or shrub bed in the front to break up the wide horizontal line and add color and texture.

I think the house looks very nice.

• babera
    9 years ago

Look at it as a blank slate, the sky's the limit.
    I think the first thing I would do is add handrail to the small patio/porch on the 2 sides and across the front except where the entrance is. I think it would break up the length as well as define the patio/porch from the surrounding beds.

As for the landscape, if it were mine. . . I would add at least 2 more trees, one between the garage and the roof line of the porch and the other closer to the house but on the right side of the one that's already there.