Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cynthiainsouthfla

Repetition in design -help!

cynthiainsouthfla
12 years ago

Hi, I post occasionally on the Florida web, but am a newbie here.

I am working on certain areas in my yard and am trying to use good design principles. My question has to do with how far to take repetition. I understand its purpose is to present a cohesive scheme and allow the eye to flow across the landscape, but my question is how far I have to take it.

I have six landscaped areas in various areas of my front yard, four anchored by queen palms and two by live oaks. Beneath all six are mamey crotons, accented by orange epinendrems (sp?) and bright green foxtail ferns. It is a beautiful arrangement and well suited to south florida heat, but I'd like to try some other things in my yard also.

Across the driveway in the front corner I have a frangipani all by itself. I want to make a landscape island there also and am wondering if I have to use the same plants, or if I can use a similar color scheme, maybe orange and yellow cannas, or a different kind of croton or something?

I know I should not put something completely unconnected (or at least I think I do). The yard is good-sized, so these things are not right up against each other.

Does anyone have any guidance for me? Thank you in advance.

Comments (19)

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    12 years ago

According to a new Florida landscape statute (just passed in January of this year) REPETITION must be used in no less than 25% of any new landscape, but not to exceed 40%...as measured on a square footage basis. Hence, existing landscaping is exempt as it is "grandfathered in." This means that you don't have to worry about anything that you've already got... just the new stuff you do from here on out. Fines are only monetary... like a speeding ticket. There is no jail time so you don't have to worry about that. Thank you Tallahassee!